PhreeqcUsers Discussion Forum

Beginners => Installation questions => Topic started by: chevron on September 13, 2016, 04:42:34 PM

Title: Installing PHREEQC 3 on a Mac
Post by: chevron on September 13, 2016, 04:42:34 PM
Hello everyone,

I hate to dumb it down on you guys, but I need help getting this program to run on my Mac. I searched the forum for instal help but didn't seem to find anything; I apologize if this has already been addressed and I over looked it. 

Here is my issue:

After downloading the .dmg file, I move the Phreeqc folder to Documents as instructed by the Readme file.  I select the 'Run Phreeqc' script and I am prompted to select an 'input' file.  I created an input folder within the Phreeqc folder with a .txt file to be used for this purpose.  I select the .txt folder and a new .txt file is generated with the name input.txt.out.  After this step, I am prompted to select a database file, and this is where things fall apart.  I go into the 'database' file in the Phreeqc folder, but I do not know which .dat folder to select; each file I select seems to run into an error.  I have attached a screenshot of the error that occurs after I select a .dat file.

I appreciate any of your advise, thoughts or guidance. 

Best Regards 
Title: Re: Installing PHREEQC 3 on a Mac
Post by: dlparkhurst on September 13, 2016, 06:09:01 PM
The screen shot does not show an error; it appears to have read the minteq.v4.dat database correctly. I have to assume that the input.txt file did not have any simulations defined, so that no further output was written.

If you define "SOLUTION" in the input.txt file, then you will get a distribution of species for pure water.
Title: Re: Installing PHREEQC 3 on a Mac
Post by: chevron on September 13, 2016, 07:52:16 PM
Thanks for your reply.  I wrote "SOLUTION" into the text file, and it generated a readout for pure water. 

I guess I am a bit confused, I was assuming there would be some kind of interface with this software like MINEQL.  Is the only capability for Mac writing into a text file and running it?  I have a .phrq file that I need to run but don't know how. 

Thanks for any further advice. 
Title: Re: Installing PHREEQC 3 on a Mac
Post by: dlparkhurst on September 13, 2016, 08:14:18 PM
There are two interfaces, PhreeqcI runs on Windows, so it could be run with an emulator on Mac.

Tony Appelo (http://hydrochemistry.eu/) has a Notepad++ interface. If you have Notepad++, I assume you could use this interface on a Mac.

If you have a .phrq file, then enter the name of the file instead of input.txt.
Title: Re: Installing PHREEQC 3 on a Mac
Post by: alencar.j on October 07, 2018, 03:09:34 PM
Hi,
Have anyone tried to install PHREEQC 3 on MacOS 10.13?
The last upload was for MacOS 10.12, and I've had some problems to install on my mac.

Thanks
Title: Re: Installing PHREEQC 3 on a Mac
Post by: idc on March 14, 2019, 04:26:08 PM
Hi, anyone here who was able to successfully install PHREEQC 3 on a mac? Thank you.
Title: Re: Installing PHREEQC 3 on a Mac
Post by: albarede on August 28, 2019, 10:59:39 AM
Hi everyone,

On High Sierra, after entering in, out and library files, I get the following error message

sh: /private/var/folders/gt/jbn2vmmx2pdbqfj71cljclr80000gn/T/AppTranslocation/05B12B05-881D-461D-AB95-4840A095D2DB/dbin/phreeqc: No such file or directory (127)

Any fix? Thank you.
Title: Re: Installing PHREEQC 3 on a Mac
Post by: bmarshall on September 09, 2019, 09:38:01 PM
Hi everyone,

On High Sierra, after entering in, out and library files, I get the following error message

sh: /private/var/folders/gt/jbn2vmmx2pdbqfj71cljclr80000gn/T/AppTranslocation/05B12B05-881D-461D-AB95-4840A095D2DB/dbin/phreeqc: No such file or directory (127)

Any fix? Thank you.

Thanks for reporting the error. First, if you are running Mojave (10.14) you may need to give Full Disk Access to phreeqc, run phreeqc, Script Editor, and Terminal. In recent versions of macOS it is likely that you will need to re-compile the run phreeqc Applescript by doing the following.

1. In the src folder, open the run phreeqc script (this will open Script Editor).
2. In Script Editor, select the Compile command from the Script menu (there should be no feedback or errors).
3. In Script Editor, select the Export command from the File menu.
4. In the dialog that opens:
  a. Export As: run phreeqc (this should be the default).
  b. Ensure that the directory is the phreeqc home folder and not the src folder.
  c. File Format = Application
  d. Select Show startup screen
  e. Select Run-only
5. Click Save and opt to replace the existing run phreeqc application.
6. Quit Script Editor (no need to save changes if prompted).

We will include these instructions in a future release unless I can figure out how to ensure that pre-compiled scripts run on all systems.