Solubility > Dissolution/precipitation

PHREEQC unable to predict the precipitation of NaCl

(1/1)

Tameka D:
Hi,

I am very new to PHREEQC and I am in need of some guidance. I am attempting to predict the precipitation of minerals from synthetic urine. To validate my model, I added MgCl2.6H2O to my synthetic urine (see below code). The model predicts the precipitation of Brucite, HAP and Mg3(PO4)2 but in my experiment, NaCl or halite also precipitated. I am unable to determine where the error is in my model. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Aside: I am using a modified wate4qf database.

SOLUTION 1 Synthetic urine
    temp      25
    pH        5.6
    pe        4
    redox     pe
    units     mol/l
    density   1
    Ca        0.004
    Cit       0.002
    Cl        0.1342
    K         0.052
    Mg        0.003
    N(-3)     0.019 as NH4
    Na        0.118
    Ox        0.0001
    P         0.031 as PO4
    S(6)     0.016 as SO4
    Urea      0.42
    -water    0.25 # kg

USE SOLUTION 1

REACTION 1 Addition of Mg source
   MgCl2:6H2O   1
   NaOH      1.64     
   0.27 moles

EQUILIBRIUM_PHASE
   Halite   0   0
   Struvite   0   0
   ACP      0     0
   HAP      0     0
   TCP      0     0
   DCPA      0     0
   DCPD      0     0
   OCP      0     0
   Brucite   0   0
   Mg3(PO4)2   0   0
   MgHPO4:3H2O   0   0

SAVE SOLUTION 2

END

dlparkhurst:
If Cl and Na are approximately equal, it takes a molality of about 6 to be in equilibrium with halite. I think your concentrations are 1 to 2 molal, the SI(Halite) is less than zero, and halite would not precipitate.

So, check your concentrations and reaction to see if Na and Cl concentrations should be higher.